Dental Insider Blog

Observation and Commentary On the Dental Industry

Internet Service Problems

Posted by dentalinsider on June 17, 2008

I have been experiencing internet service problems for the last week. I have spent countless hours on the phone with the cable company and they have not resolved the problem as of yet. I am most likely going to switch to DSL if they don’t get me back up and running after they come out this weekend to re-cable the entire house. I cant believe all of the BS that the tech support people give you…

Tech support: Sir, we so no problems with your line and modem.
DI : Well, if there are no problems…why am I not connected to the internet?
Tech: Gee sir, I am not sure, but I will pass you to the next level of tech and they will be able to get you connected.

Anyway, my neighbor was kind enough to let me log onto his wi-fi network to check email. Hopefully, I will be able to start posting again later in the week or over the weekend.

Thanks for your patience!

DI

5 Responses to “Internet Service Problems”

  1. Go Verizon FIOS. If you have it in the ground. Don’t want to jinx myself,but so far so good!

  2. Dental Guy said

    I was very pleases with my DSL ATT service. I never once had a service outage, which was wonderful b/c the evil cable company had a habit of accidentally disconnecting my service. Also, with DSL, no technician is needed! They just send you a box, and it’s easy as pie.

    I would just be wary of all of ATTs “startup service discounts” it can be hard to make sure you get everything you deserve.

  3. Dick McManus, DMD. said

    I have both cable (at home) and DSL at the office. Have the cable company “ping” your modem to see if there could be a bad connection or a router problem. I have had similar difficulies with my home cable service after a severe storm ruined the modem but because the modem lights all still blinked I was unaware of the problem. The cable company can send a service guy to check the lines connections etc.

  4. Dr. Dick,

    Thanks….been through all of that, new modem, took the router out completely and still nothing. They finally narrowed it down to line problems coming in off of the street. They are supposed to come out and run new cable from the street to the house and on to the modem. I may still make the switch to DSL.

    DI

  5. Dick McManus said

    I had to have them split the Internet from the TV to get the internet to work well and well right now the connection is as slow as dial up(this is unusual). I believe that the cable bandwidth is big, but if enough users are on at the same time the speed will slow down. With DSL you buy the bandwidth upload and downloand speed you can afford and it is not affected by other users. I have enjoyed both but the DSL seems to be less of a problem and the speed is excellent. Goodluck.
    Dick McManus

Leave a Reply

 
