Dental Insider Blog

Observation and Commentary On the Dental Industry

Basics of RSS…

Posted by dentalinsider on November 20, 2006

As I look through the Dental Insider site stats, I see that we are averaging about 100 visitors per day with over 200 page views per day. Yet, we only have between 12-19 readers subscribed through RSS aggregators. RSS stands for “Real Simple Syndication”(see Wikipedia) I see that many of our readers have the site bookmarked or they type in the address directly in their browser. With RSS, when we update the site, it is picked up in your aggregator and delivered to your desktop. For those of you who are not familiar with RSS, Scott Bourne of Bourne Media Group has put together “The Basics of RSS”.

Here are a few free RSS Aggregators:

Bloglines

My Yahoo

Google Feed Reader

Newsgator

Rojo

My AOL

Simply Headlines (Email headlines)

Netvibes

Pageflakes

Netvibes and Pageflakes are web based “Homepages” from where you can start your browsing. They support RSS feeds, so you can have all of your feeds come to your homepage. You can also have your Gmail or Yahoo mail summarized on your page. Once you click on a sub heading, a new browser is opened with the new content. One feature that I really like is that you can have tabs at the top of the page, like having multiple pages. I have mine setup with a General tab, where I have my email, web search, weather, De.lici.ous page, USA Today and Fox News. I have a Blog tab that has the feeds from the 10 or so blogs that I follow. Next is a photo tab with links to my Flickr site and a Podcast tab with the feeds from a couple of podcasts that I listen to.

I think this is a great way to have everything in one place on the web and NetVibes and Pageflakes does a great job with their sites. Do yourself a favor and check them out….they’re free to register and use.

Take a few minutes and read up on RSS and you’ll discover that subscribing to an RSS Feed is FREE and saves time by aggregating all of your feeds in one place.

DI

Leave a Reply

 
